Selig Goldin Award

Selig Goldin

Selig I. Goldin

“As an attorney, Selig was always tops. Dedication and zeal were his trademarks. He accepted many cases and many clients others turned down, because he felt those cases had to be defended and he believed in the person and the cause.”

Those few words, spoken at Selig Goldin’s funeral by his brother, Philip, capture what members of the criminal defense bar knew of this young Gainesville lawyer who died of cancer before his time — that he was a man of great ability and great compassion. His career was cut short, yet he left his mark not only with those he defended, but with those judges before whom he practiced and those lawyers who were his adversaries in the courtroom and his friends when the trials were over.

To honor the memory of this young man, who none doubt would have reached the top of his profession, the Criminal Law Section each year distinguishes one member of The Florida Bar for displaying the talents and compassion possessed by Selig I. Goldin.

His path is not an easy one to follow. He graduated high school at 16, college at 20, and law school at 23. His list of honors is remarkable for one so young. By age 24, he was well-regarded within the Gainesville legal community as a man who would not turn down a case because the client could not afford to pay nor because the client’s cause was unpopular.

As a member of the Executive Council of the Criminal Law Section, he displayed the same zeal and dedication to justice that was his trademark in the courtroom. He was, as many have said, a lawyer’s lawyer, a man who possessed the best attributes of the profession — competence, service, compassion.

Philip remembers: As Selig began working on his goals, he touched many lives. From judges and attorneys to moonshiners, from clergy to ex-convicts, from athletes and coaches to doctors and nurses, from architects to plain, simple folk, he touched their lives in his own special way. Selig accomplished his goals and always did it his way.

A plaque commemorating the Selig I. Goldin Memorial Award winners is located at the University of Florida Levin College of Law in Gainesville.

2017 Recipient - Thomas Petersen

Thomas Petersen

Thomas Petersen

Each year, the Criminal Law Section bestows the Selig Goldin Award on a member of the Bar who has made a lasting contribution to Florida’s criminal justice system.  This year, we are pleased to recognize the Honorable Thomas Petersen.  In his more than 50 years of practice in Miami, Judge Petersen has made a remarkable and lasting contribution to the state’s juvenile justice system and programs.

After graduating from Columbia Law School, Judge Petersen joined VISTA (Volunteers in Service to America), moved to Overtown (an African-American community in Miami) and created the first Pretrial Release Program (PTR) for indigent defendants.

He served as the first Assistant Public Defender in Miami to be assigned to juvenile court.  From there, he was hired by then State Attorney Richard Gerstein to create and administer the first Pre-trial Intervention Program (PTI) for first-time offenders in the southeastern United States.

With limited staff, he simultaneously served as Director of both the PTR and PTI programs in Miami.  His PTI program was nominated for Exemplary Project Status by the Law Enforcement Assistance Administration, and Judge Petersen was awarded an LEAA grant to fund the diversion program.

As the Chief Assistant Public Defender under Gerstein and Janet Reno (both former Selig Goldin Award recipients), Judge Petersen was responsible for the administrative and policy decisions in an office of over 180 attorneys.  He served as the Legal Advisor to the Dade Grand Jury and issued reports covering policies ranging from foster care, nursing homes, vocation and probation programs, immigration and narcotics interdiction, and inner-city schools.  This was in addition to administering a $3 million federal grant to establish and fund a recidivist Juvenile Offender Program, an Early Intervention Program, a Juvenile Restitution Program and the SAO’s First Offender Diversion Program.

Outside of the courts, Judge Petersen created a small chain of non-profit grocery stores run by AFDC (Aid for Families of Dependent Children) which employed women from public housing projects. And together with civic champion Georgia Jones-Ayers, he co-founded The Alternative Program, Florida’s first privately operated pre-trial release organization.  In 1988, he was awarded The Miami Herald Spirit of Excellence for his economic development work.

Appointed to the circuit court in 1989, Judge Petersen served for nine years in the Juvenile Division of the Eleventh Judicial Circuit Court.  While there, he developed a first-offender diversion program, a committee to oversee residential and non-residential juvenile delinquency programs, the TROY (Teaching and Rehabilitating Our Youth) program, Teen Cuisine (teaching food preparation and service skills), the Gardens of TROY (horticultural program) and the TROY Academy -- all designed to give juvenile offenders the skills to develop self-reliance and responsibility.

He truly is a man for all seasons.  We are pleased to recognize Judge Thomas Petersen for his lifetime commitment to the citizens of Florida.

Previous Selig Goldin Award Winners

2016 – Nancy Daniels
2015 – Honorable Charles D. Edelstein
2014 – Charles B. “Chuck” Morton Jr.
2013 – James T. (Jim) Miller
2012 – Robert C. Josefsberg
2011 – Henry M. Coxe, III
2010 – Barry E. Krischer
2009 – The Honorable O. H. Eaton, Jr.
2008 – Seymour Gelber
2007 – Albert J. Krieger
2006 – Neal R. Sonnett
2005 – Honorable Lou Frost
2004 – Honorable Susan R. Schaeffer
2003 – Professor Charles W. Ehrhardt
2002 – Honorable Bennett H. Brummer
2001 – Honorable Janet Reno
2000 – Professor William R. Eleazer
1999 – Honorable Ben F. Overton
1998 – Professor John F. Yetter
1997 – Honorable Stanley R. Morris
1996 – Robert E. Jagger
1995 – Professor Steven M. Goldstein
1994 – Professor Gerald T. Bennett
1993 – William J. Sheppard
1992 – Professor Paul Barnard
1991 – T. Edward Austin, Jr.
1990 – Honorable Marvin U. Mounts, Jr.
1989 – Honorable Edward D. Cowart
1988 – Honorable Gerald Kogan
1987 – Honorable James C. Adkins
1986 – Honorable Phillip A. Hubbart
1985 – Honorable Benjamin M. Tench
1984 – Honorable Richard E. Gerstein
1983 – Albert J. Datz
1982 – Tobias Simon